REVIEW: The Kill Box by Nichole Christoff

The Kill Box Book Cover The Kill Box
A Jamie Sinclair Novel
Nichole Christoff
Thriller
283

In an intense thriller that’s perfect for fans of Lee Child or Lisa Gardner, security specialist and PI Jamie Sinclair tackles a cold case that could cost her the one person who means the most to her.

Hardworking Jamie Sinclair can’t wait for the weekend. She plans to be off the clock and on the road to wine country with handsome military police officer Adam Barrett. But when a strung-out soldier takes an innocent woman hostage and forces his way into Jamie’s bedroom, everything changes. Jamie’s never seen the soldier before. But he’s no stranger to Barrett—and with one word he persuades Barrett to pack a duffel and leave Jamie in the lurch.

Jamie cannot fathom why Barrett would abandon her without explanation. But as the consequences of an unsolved crime threaten to catch up with him, a late-night phone call sends Jamie racing to Barrett’s hometown in upstate New York. In a tinderbox of shattered trust and long-buried secrets, Jamie must fight to uncover the truth about what really occurred one terrible night twenty years ago. And the secrets she discovers deep in Barrett’s past not only threaten their future together—they just might get her killed.

The Kill Box by Nichole Christoff is the third book in the Jamie Sinclair series. I reviewed the first and second books, The Kill List and The Kill Shot, earlier this year, but this book was definitely my favourite so far.

In The Kill Box, tough cookie Jamie Sinclair shows her soft side, racing (unwanted) to the rescue of Adam, who we got to know in previous books. Adam is less the knight in shining armour in this instalment, and is more like the damsel in distress – thankfully Jamie puts up with his rubbish and sees it for what it is – insecurity, after a tragedy from his past resurfaces. Jamie takes it upon herself to get to the bottom of a decades old murder, but before she can make much headway, bodies start dropping left and right. With some strange small town acquaintances and a keen DEA agent, along with Adam’s adorable granny, she manages to find the truth.

I think this was my favourite book in the series so far because it had the deepest mystery and the best character development. Jamie showed her softer side, and we learned that there was more to Adam than just being the perfect jarhead. The secondary characters were really interesting, and (although my awesome deductive mind was suspicious of one of the bad guys from the start) there was plenty to keep me guessing! I read the whole book in a sitting – which is a testament to the book in itself, as I’m so tired these days that long stints of reading are far and few between!

The book can be read as a stand alone mystery, but readers would definitely benefit from the backstory of Jamie’s career, and Adam and Jamie’s relationship, as both are developed during this book. Plus, the first two books are pretty good, so why not check them out?!

Amazon

I received a copy of The Kill Box by Nichole Christoff in exchange for a review and my honest opinion. 

Annabel & Alice Sign Off